They say patience is a virtue, and that has certainly been the case with the Mark Minervini trained mare Freedom Road (4m Good Journey – Voltara), who registered win number one, at start number three in fine style over 1350m at Strathalbyn today. 

A $31,000 yearling purchase from the 2013 Adelaide Magic Millions sale it was a little over a month ago that the mare made her race debut, and she has rewarded both trainer and her large group of owners by scoring a commanding win. 

Debuting at the same venue as today's event, Freedom Road showed she was a galloper with a good deal of ability, settling back and making good late ground for a respectable fourth placing. She then ventured to Morphettville for the traditional Christmas meeting, where she again ran on, for an even placing, albeit a long way from the eventual winner. 

With temperatures pushing 40 degrees that afternoon, one could have been rather forgiving, and once the mare had shown she had taken no harm from the heat, the rise to 1350m was the logical step. 

Onto today, from a good gate in six, and with stable rider Shayne Cahill aboard, the race had gone little more than half a furlong, before it became evident that Freedom Road was going to be very hard to beat. Cahill slotting the Good Journey mare in behind the two leaders, and she enjoyed a wonderful run in transit. It was merely a case of if, not when and nearing the turn, he had a peak around to look for challengers, finding none, before he asked the mare for something, and she was off and gone – a touch under three lengths the final margin. 

Whilst the maiden opposition may have been a touch 'light on', it was the manner in which Freedom Road disposed of her rivals that would have pleased the Minervini camp, and the Good Journey mare will no doubt only get better as the distances increase, and with further racing experience under her belt. 

As mentioned, good things come to those who wait, and congratulations to the ownership group, Frank Agostino, Beth Gibb, Ros Inglis, Colin Kuchel, Davide and Bianca La Scala, Michelle Minervini, Jay Morris, Crikey Syndicate, John & Margaret Ray, Frank Salzano, Raymond Spencer, Summerset Park Stud Syndicate, Erica Taylor, Dirk Van Dissel and Alan Young. 

Daniel Borg

Minervini Racing